Traditional First Nation Community Names

mobile menu

Traditional First Nation Community Names

Have you ever wondered what Opaskwayak or Sagkeeng means in the Cree or Ojibway language?

Now you can find out! MFNERC is thrilled to announce the launch of a new project from our Research & Development Program. It is an interactive map of Manitoba displaying traditional First Nation community names, described by a member of that community. It features the five main First Nations languages in Manitoba: Cree, Ojibway, Dene, Oji-Cree and Dakota.

The map is available online, or you can order a USB copy by emailing Valerie Bighetty,

Please note: The map uses Flash, it can take a few moments to load and is not viewable on smart phones or tablets.

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 2.24.06 PM
Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 2.20.49 PM
This entry was posted in Research & Development, What's New. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.